Scrabble Australia » Major Titles

Australian Scrabble Championship

The Australian Championship is held each Easter. The Championship section consists of higher rated players. The Plate section is the next section. This list shews winner of Championship and Plate. Click the year to see full results.
This event is rated both in Australia and internationally.
A more detailed view of all the National Championships is here.

2021 Hobart
Chris May, Alex Tan
2019 Hobart
Cameron Farlow, Rene Chelton
2018 Canberra
Edward Okulicz, Don Hadley
2017 Perth
Russell Honeybun, Susan Roberts
2016 Adelaide
Trevor Halsall, Larrie Strautmanis
2015 Melbourne
Peter Kougi, Anne Schick
2014 Sydney
Daniel Piechnick, Don Hadley
2013 Southport
David Eldar, Rhonda Rickard
2012 Hobart
Andrew Fisher, Janine Whittaker
2011 Canberra
Chris May, Raya Wilkinson
2010 Adelaide
Naween Fernando, Michael Rubinstein
2009 Perth
Andrew Fisher, Sunny Wright
2008 Melbourne
Naween Fernando, Matthew Selvanera
2007 Sydney
David Eldar, Nick Cavenagh
2006 Brisbane
Andrew Fisher, Stuart Pridham
2005 Hobart
Naween Fernando, Linda Puls
2004 Canberra
Cheah Siu Hean, Helen Maurus
2003 Adelaide
Bob Jackman, David Eldar
2002 Fremantle
Cheah Siu Hean, Muriel Berman
2001 Melbourne
Edward Okulicz, Pat Schuberg

Australian Masters and State Team Challenge

The Australian Masters is a selective event of 20 top rated players playing a round robin. At the same time 21 selected players from the seven states or territories play a competition to determine a victorious state. This list shews the victorious state, winner of Masters and the first placed in State section.
This event is rated both in Australia and internationally.
Click the year to see full results.
2019 ACTCanberra
Chris May, John Spaan
2018 ACTSouthport
Andrew Fisher, John Hamilton
2017 VICAdelaide
Andrew Fisher, Edie Mueller
2016 Melbourne
Joanne Craig, David Vanzyl
2015 NSWSydney
Naween Fernando, Tim Mason
2014 NSWAdelaide
Cameron Farlow, Ryan Sutton
2013 VICMelbourne
Helen Maurus, Matte Dunn
2012 NSWSydney
Edward Okulicz, Tony Hunt
2011 QLDAdelaide
Alastair Richards, John Spaan
2010 NSWMelbourne
Peter Kougi, Michael McKenna
2009 QLDSydney
Andrew Fisher, Chris Hall
2008 QLDMelbourne
David Eldar, Harry Malcolm
2007 VICMelbourne
Naween Fernando, Tony Hunt
2006 Wollongong
Bob Jackman, John Spaan
2005 SAMelbourne
Trevor Halsall, Carmel Dodd

State Championships

State Championships are flagship events of each state. They often attract players from other states. This list shews the winners from recent years. A more complete history for any state can be found by clicking on the state name.
These events are rated both in Australia and internationally, except for the Queensland Championship.
Click the year to see full results.
2019 Jakob Teitelbaum
2019 Joanne Craig
2019 Cameron Farlow
SA Mar
2019 Carmel Dodd
2020 Trevor Halsall
2021 Daniel Piechnick
2019 Stephen Mooney-Pursell
2020 Stephen Mooney-Pursell
2019 Trevor Halsall
2019 Russell Honeybun
2021 Russell Honeybun