Scrabble Australia
The Alchemist Cup 2018

Selective events 2018

The event

Michael Tang has created the Alchemist Cup as an elite team event organised in the same way as the Teams division of the Causeway Challenge of the past. Pictured below is the victorious Australian team from 2006 (Naween Fernando, Edward Okulicz, Andrew Fisher, David Eldar, Chris May).
Ten teams of 5 players will play 45 rounds from 5th to 9th December 2018 in Penang, Malaysia. The ten teams are Australia, New Zealand, England, Malaysia, Nigeria, Singapore, Thailand, USA, Rest of Asia, Rest of World.

Selection process

This is an invitational event where Australian players are selected by the Council of Australian Scrabble Players Association, subject to approval of criteria by Michael Tang.

Qualification criteria

The qualification criteria are:
  1. A player must be a financial member of ASPA for the entire qualifying period.
  2. A player must be an Australian citizen or permanent resident. Temporary visa holders are not eligible.
  3. The method of ranking candidates is by the three peak statistic (the Q statistic) described below.

The three peaks Q statistic

The primary criterion for ranking candidates is the Q statistic calculated like this:

  1. The qualification period is the nine months from Dec 1 2017 to Aug 31 2018 inclusive.
  2. Subperiods are Dec 2017 to Feb 2018, Mar 2018 to May 2018 and June 2018 to Aug 2018.
  3. A multiday tournament which spans two periods will be treated for peak and game count as occurring on the first day.
  4. The qualifying statistic is Q = (P1 + P2 + 2 x P3)/4 , which is a weighted average of peak ratings in three subperiods.
  5. If you play no games rated by ASPA in a period, your peak in that period is equal to the rating before that period minus 200.
  6. You must have played at least 45 games rated by ASPA in the qualifying period before the last peak.
  7. You must have played 60 games recognised by ASPA in the qualifying period, which includes games rated nationally by ASPA and up to 15 games played outside Australia and rated by WESPA.
  8. You cannot be credited with a peak in a tournament where you are absent from a game for any reason except an allocated bye.

The secondary criterion is number of rated games within the qualification period. If two players have the same Q statistic, the one with the greater number of rated games in the qualification period is ranked higher.

The contenders

The table below shows the notional team as at 17.03.2018 plus 10 more who are almost in.

More details revealed as you move your mouse over the table.
Q Stat
Games Peak (games)
Peak (games)
Peak (games)
1David Eldar(VIC) 2182.0049 2182 (49)
2Naween Fernando(VIC) 2015.0052 2019 (47)2011 (5)
3Edward Okulicz(NSW) 2005.5051 2036 (46)1975 (5)
4Peter Kougi(VIC) 2005.0068 2005 (68)
5Chris May(NSW) 1984.0044 2024 (36)1944 (8)
6Trevor Halsall(VIC) 1971.0030 1950 (25)1992 (5)
7Andrew Fisher(VIC) 1970.0059 1985 (54)1955 (5)
8Esther Perrins(NSW) 1921.5037 1914 (29)1929 (8)
9Cameron Farlow(QLD) 1913.5044 1910 (36)1917 (8)
10Michael Cameron(SA) 1860.0015 1860 (15)
11Anand Bharadwaj(VIC) 1843.0017 1843 (17)
13Daniel Piechnick(SA) 1820.0055 1861 (39)1779 (16)
14Bob Jackman(NSW) 1797.0073 1809 (65)1785 (8)
15Mythili Rudra(VIC) 1786.0049 1786 (49)

Candidates who are unavailable:
Alastair Richards

Recently processed:
24.02.2018 Feb RR (QLD)
24.02.2018 SA February (SA)
24.02.2018 Saturday Sessions II (VIC) New peak for Trevor Halsall
25.02.2018 Empire Bay (1) (NSW)
25.02.2018 Feb RR (WA)
04.03.2018 Langwarrin (VIC)
10.03.2018 Bremer Waters (QLD) New peak for Cameron Farlow
10.03.2018 Matchplay Qualifer (NSW) New peak for Esther Perrins, Chris May, Bob Jackman
10.03.2018 saturday sessions iii (VIC) New peak for Trevor Halsall, Naween Fernando, Andrew Fisher, Edward Okulicz
11.03.2018 SA Championship (SA) New peak for Daniel Piechnick
13.03.2018 Kingrobin (TAS)