Scrabble Australia
The Alchemist Cup 2020

Selective events 2019

The event

Michael Tang has created the Alchemist Cup as an elite team event held every even numbered year. Pictured below is the victorious Australian team from 2018 (David Eldar, Naween Fernando, Chris May,Andrew Fisher, Edward Okulicz ) with organiser Michael Tang.

Alchemist Cup 2020 will be held at Genting Highland Resort, Malaysia. 9 games per day will be played from Dec 2 till 6, 2020. Ten teams of 5 players will play 45 rounds. Australia will be one of these teams.
The fifty players will be among the best in the world. But there is also straight afterward another even more elite event, the Candidates Tournament. 10 Candidates will be selected out of 50 players at Alchemist Cup 2020. They will play 3 full round-robin (27 games) in Candidates Tournament from Dec 7 till 9, 2020. The Winner earns the right to challenge the Alchemist Champion in Alchemist Showdown 2021 (two top players only). Selection of 10 Candidates will be at sole discretion by the Organizer but he/she will need to have at least 2000 WESPA rating points. Moving forward, Alchemist Showdown will be alternating with Alchemist Cup every other year.

Selection process

This is an invitational event where Australian players are selected by the Council of Australian Scrabble Players Association, subject to approval of criteria by Michael Tang.

Qualification criteria

The qualification criteria are:
  1. You must be a financial member of ASPA for the entire qualifying period.
  2. You must be an Australian citizen or permanent resident. Temporary visa holders are not eligible.
  3. The method of ranking candidates is by the three peak statistic (the Q statistic) described below.

The three peaks Q statistic

The primary criterion for ranking candidates is the Q statistic calculated like this:

  1. The qualification period is the twelve months from May 1 2019 to April 30 2020 inclusive.
  2. Subperiods are May 2019 to Aug 2019, Sep 2019 to Dec 2019 and Jan 2020 to Apr 2020.
  3. A multiday tournament which spans two periods will be treated for peak and game count as occurring on the first day.
  4. The qualifying statistic is Q = (P1 + P2 + 2 x P3)/4 , which is a weighted average of peak ratings in three subperiods.
  5. If you play no games rated by ASPA in a period, your peak in that period is equal to the rating before that period minus 200.
  6. You must have played at least 45 games rated by ASPA in the qualifying period before the last peak.
  7. You must have played 60 games recognised by ASPA in the qualifying period, which includes games rated nationally by ASPA and up to 15 games played outside Australia and rated by WESPA.
  8. You cannot be credited with a peak in a tournament where you are absent from a game for any reason except an allocated bye.

The secondary criterion is number of rated games within the qualification period. If two players have the same Q statistic, the one with the greater number of rated games in the qualification period is ranked higher.

The contenders

The table below shows the notional team as at 03.09.2019 plus 10 more who are almost in.

More details revealed as you move your mouse over the table.
Q Stat
Games Peak (games)
Peak (games)
Peak (games)
1Andrew Fisher(VIC) 2040.0014 2040 (14)
2Chris May(NSW) 2033.0018 2033 (18)
3Naween Fernando(VIC) 1997.0028 1997 (28)
4Cameron Farlow(QLD) 1990.0032 1990 (32)
5Edward Okulicz(VIC) 1950.0030 1950 (30)
6Peter Kougi(VIC) 1931.0018 1931 (18)
7David Eldar(VIC) 1910.00*0 1910 (0)
8Esther Perrins(NSW) 1898.0024 1898 (24)
9Anand Bharadwaj(VIC) 1894.0030 1894 (30)
10Trevor Halsall(VIC) 1886.0037 1886 (37)
11Bob Jackman(NSW) 1878.0082✓ 1878 (82)
12Daniel Piechnick(SA) 1875.0027 1875 (27)
13Michael Cameron(SA) 1867.0042 1867 (42)
14Joanne Craig(NSW) 1865.0083✓ 1865 (83)
15Adam Kretschmer(SA) 1844.0065✓ 1844 (65)

Recently processed:
15.08.2019 PERTH 4 (WA)
17.08.2019 ROSS AUG (TAS)
17.08.2019 TSV mini (QLD)
18.08.2019 AUGTRIS (WA)
18.08.2019 HILLS Tournament (NSW)
18.08.2019 RYMAN CLASSIC (VIC)
18.08.2019 SA August 4-4 (SA)
18.08.2019 Youth Fundraiser #2 (ACT) New peak for Bob Jackman
25.08.2019 WESPA Seniors 2019 (QLD) New peak for Esther Perrins
31.08.2019 August Pub Tourney (SA)
31.08.2019 sat sessions 4b (VIC) New peak for Naween Fernando, Anand Bharadwaj, Edward Okulicz